Hello World!

14 Feb

Welcome to The Maddox Project: a collection of my life’s work, my art and my opinions.

I am Georgina Maddox, a woman who likes to wear many hats. I’m officially a journalist, since that puts bread on the table. But when I’m not on the art beat, I like to be a creative writer and a visual artist. When I’m in the mood I like to strum my guitar and serenade about life and its complexities. And when the need arises I take to the streets waving a banner with my activist comrades for queer rights, women’s rights and the rights of any minority group that has to put up with Right wing crap.

Currently, I live and work in New Delhi: a vibrant, albeit polluted city, but my love for the city overflows in my articles on art and culture in publications like Art IndiaThe Indian ExpressOutlook magazine, The Times of India, Mumbai Mirror, and now at Mail Today. In the days when I wasn’t consumed by deadlines, I worked on two short films: Bombay Longing with Shalini Kantaya, a US based diva, and her second film No fixed address had artist Tejal Shah on the camera. Her third film script is lying waiting around for a willing camera woman.

I have also curated two exhibitions and when I have a free hand I catalogue essays for artists like Sunil Padwal, Shilpa Gupta, Sanjeev Sonpimpare and Saba Hassan to name a few. My essay on Bhupen Khakhar and Amrita Sher-Gil, Challenging the heteronorm in art is published in a Seagull publication titled The phobic and the erotic: The politics of sexualities in contemporary India; edited by Brinda Bose and Subhabrata Bhattacharyya. My fiction novella is still in the process of being written. I am devoted to Scripts the queer zeen by LBT women, a heaven for self expression and art.

I invite other queer LGBTs to contribute their creativity. Post or ping.

Cheers

One Response to “Hello World!”

  1. debi April 4, 2012 at 12:58 am #

    u r lookin sooo gud in this pic…n keep the gud work up

Leave a Reply

